Last of the Baby Crafts

10 Aug

For other people’s babies. At least for the time being.

This sweater is a baby-sized play on a Aran sweater. I have never really done a full on cabled sweater before, so baby-sized seemed like a good place to start. If I hated it, it just wasn’t big enough to give me real grief. Luckily though, I didn’t hate it. I rather liked it, in fact. It doesn’t make for good TV knitting , but that’s largely because I seem totally incapable of memorizing patterns. I mean really, what is wrong with my brain that I can’t get this pretty simple repeat down? Oh well, that’s what the chart is for, I guess.

Speaking of the chart, the pattern is from the ultimate source of free patterns, Knitty. It is, as to be expected, well written and easy to follow. It took me way longer than it should have because my knitting was rudely interrupted by the arrival of one adorable baby of our own. He isn’t conductive to knitting just now, because he demands to be held all of the time. I’m not complaining, mind you, just noting. As it turns out, holding him is a pretty awesome past time. However, with a steady stream of guests that were interested in partaking of that particular past time (and could care less about what I was doing or if I was paying attention to them at all), I was able to finish off the last of the knitting for this sweater.

Said adorable baby

Said adorable baby

I used an all cotton yarn that I received as left-overs from a sweater that my mom knitted for our baby. It is a really fun rusty salmon color that we choose to be appropriately gender neutral and not too stodgy for a tiny baby. It knits up a little stiff, I’m sure in part because of the density of the stitches here. I’m hoping that it loosens up a bit when I wash it.

All that’s left is the closure. I’m thinking little wooden or leather buttons in keeping with the old-man sweater nature of this little cardigan.

While I’m hopeful that I can get this project entirely done soon so that I can give it to it’s intended recipient, I’m not too rushed. It seems crazy to give someone a sweater when it is this hot out. All self-respecting babies should be as naked as possible right now.

08_09 Trelis for Finn2

Leave a Reply

