Wool in a heat wave

12 Sep

I have a sickness. In the hottest summer I can remember, I have spent a not insignificant portion of my time covered in wool.  Because I can’t stop.  The crazier things get – and they have been kinda crazy with the move and impromptu remodel of our kitchen (to be discussed) – the more I want to drop everything and knit.  Nervous, anxious energy is cast out as I cast on (I’m sorry, I spend too much time with a certain person who makes exceedingly bad puns).

My first project of the summer/spring was a sweater for me.  Back when Knitty started and I had a tremendously boring day job I used to spend a portion of every

Pattern is Shapely Boyfriend by Stephanie Japel

See all the details here: http://ravel.me/fasterpanda/c5wy7

day looking at the patterns and wishing I had more time and money for yarn.  Now, years later, I’ve actually finished a Knitty sweater designed by the talented Stefanie Japel. Plus, I got to work through a bunch of old stash yarn left over from a blanket that I made for a friend’s wedding two years ago.

This sweater was actually done in April, but it took me until June to find buttons that I liked well enough.  Now I’m going to have to wait until October to wear it.

See all the details here: http://ravel.me/fasterpanda/vrvue

The second project of the summer is just getting wrapped up now.  It is a pattern that I love from Mason Dixon Knitting.  I’m making this blanket for my sister to celebrate her wedding.  This is the second time I’ve made this blanket.  It is super easy, if a bit tedious (especially the part I’m at now – weaving in all those ends). This is a pattern that screams for variations on the theme.  Different colors, different widths, etc. I’m making one for us next.  Just one more way to feed the addiction.

One Response to “Wool in a heat wave”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gifting | Pandabolt Farms - April 5, 2013

    […] before, it seems like everyone I know is having a baby. A couple years ago, everybody was getting married.  These waves of life events has kept my crafting projects list buzzing.  I, not infrequently, […]

Leave a Reply

