Our Garden is Getting All Growns Up

20 Jun

Another update on the garden – I should maybe just resign myself to bi-weekly (instead of weekly) updates. This one will likely be heavy on photos, light on words, because, well – we got a lot going on in the garden, and I simply lack the words. Check it:

Panda, Panda, on the Veranda / How's Does Your Garden Grow?

So, here’s what’s going on. That monster up front, on the left-hand side, is our summer squash plant. Tough to see behind the summer squash are the rainbow chards, but there’s one little lonely collard to the left that you can see there next to the squash. Also tough to make out are all the peppers, then behind that (around the tripod) are the beans, and a cucumber plant. And you can just barely make out the tallest of the tomatoes behind the beans (click through to see a big version if you’d like; it’s easier to spot, but still tough), but there are a lot more back there doing quite well also, including an eggplant and two okras that keep chugging along, despite the loss of their sisters.

On the right-hand side, up front,  are the butternut squashes, just starting to get going, but also doing quite well. Carrots will be ready for harvest in the next two or three weeks, methinks, and behind that our kind of out-of-control arugula. Climbing up the tripod next to the arugula are more cucumbers, and behind all of that (I think invisible in this photo) are more tomatoes, basil (both anise-scented and sweet genovese). And now for the pictures I promised.

First, here’s a squash blossom:

And this is a (wee!) baby bean (on the right), with a still-green tomato on the left, in the background. I’m really quite fond of the purple flowers on the bean plants.

And here are (a lot!) of cucumber blossoms. Gotta keep an eye on those cucumbers. They keep trying to shoot tendrils out and grab hold of the plants next to them, so they need reminding that that’s why we built them some tripods:

And last, but not least, here’s a baby sweet pepper, starting to turn into a teenage sweet pepper. If you’ve been reading along, this is the one that I was kind of alarmed at when I first saw it, because I thought it might be diseased or something. And then I remembered we’d bought a “pinot noir” pepper variety. Apparently we have a thing for purple veggies…

All of these, I think, are good signs that we’ll hopefully have more veggies on our hands than we know exactly what to do with. And that’s a good kind of problem to have 🙂

2 Responses to “Our Garden is Getting All Growns Up”

  1. Mom June 21, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    Did I ever tell you about the carrots I grew at our first house in San Antonio?

    • pandabolt June 22, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      I think I do – short and stubby (but super wide) because of the bedrock, no?

      Here’s hoping ours turn out better – we pulled one little one that had somehow strayed to the other side of the spinach (I think it got there by me spilling some seeds when I set the packet down back when I was planting) on Sunday, and it was tiny, but then, the top-side of it was much smaller than most of the others we have, and it’d been hanging out shaded by spinach for quite a while apparently. We ate it raw – I’m looking forward to these carrots – they’re nice and spicy and a bit more flavorful than any I’ve had before. Plus I don’t think I’ve ever seen a purple carrot in person.

Leave a Reply

