I’d probably be bad at farming

12 Apr
The Good Gardener

The Good Gardener Planting Carrots

Mostly because I’m constantly forgetting things. Like the other night, when we were planting the carrots, Panda pointed out the (broken) rake I’d failed to throw in the garbage that was hanging on the side of the swing set.  And then on her way back from the trash can, picked up the ax I’d left leaning against a tree and took it back to its home in the shed. All the while, I also forgot to plant as many carrots as I’d meant to, and last week I was supposed to plant arugula but had somehow convinced myself that it wasn’t in our plans for this year’s garden, despite the fact that its in the spreadsheet – both in the “planting and care” tab and on the “garden plan” layout. If I’m gonna make a spreadsheet, I should remember that its only useful as a planning tool if I return to it from time to time to make sure that I’m actually following the plan.

In any case, here’s what I planted last night after work:

  • 6 more square feet of Cosmic Purple Carrots (~192 seeds, but more likely somewhere between that and ~288; carrot seeds are tiny – its hard to make sure there are exactly two per hole), again at ~1″ spacing, plan is to thin them to 16 plants per square foot
  • 9 squares of Arugula (Somewhere between ~432 seeds and ~576 seeds; arugula seeds are tinier than carrot seeds. I think I probably got somewhere between 3 and 4 seeds per hole despite my best intentions of putting only 2 in), also at ~1″ spacing with a plan to thin them to 16 plants per square foot.

Up top, there’s a picture of the good farmer in our family planting carrot seeds from Sunday night. And here’s an after shot, happy, watching Puppersmith-Jones run after his ball.

Watching the Wonderpup

Wondering why her eyes aren't closed this time?

2 Responses to “I’d probably be bad at farming”

  1. Aleksandra April 13, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I’d better start being a better friend so you share your arugula with us. Want to party this weekend? We could drink. And do a kitcheny project if the weather sucks, or play outside if the weather is nice.

    • pandabolt April 14, 2011 at 10:28 am #

      We’ll always be happy to share our arugula with you guys 🙂

      We’d love to hang out with you guys this weekend – and we’re always up for kitchen-y projects, though the weather (I think) is supposed to be nice on Sunday if we’d rather be outside. Give us a holler!

Leave a Reply

